Disc golf - an outdoor sport for all generations

Activity in the great outdoors, fun from the very first moment and the shared experience
with family and friends make disc golf a real favorite sport.

What it’s all about
The challenge is to complete a course of mostly 18 holes with as few throws as possible. From a defined drop zone, you throw the disc in the direction of a disc golf target. Then you mark the place where the disc landed and continue playing from there. The course is played to the end when you have sunk the disc in the target. Depending on the course and degree of difficulty, the length of a hole is between 40 and 250 meters.

The number of disc golf facilities in Germany is growing from year to year. You can find an overview of where you can play here.

The discs
The selection of different disc golf discs is almost endless and sometimes quite confusing at the beginning.
So, we give you a brief insight into the different disc categories and flight characteristics.

Disc golf discs are usually divided into three main categories:

Putter

Precision all along the line. Putters are designed to be thrown into the target. They are the easiest and most precise to cast. But you cannot cover long distances with them. They usually have a high edge and a rather flat top. The decisive throw for the final land into the basket is almost always made with the putter.

Midrange

The all-rounder among the discs. Midrange discs do not have the range of the drivers, but they offer more control with their ability to hold special trajectories, so obstacles can be overcome with fewer throws.

Driver

When it comes to range, drivers are the first choice. With experienced players they fly over 100 meters and are therefore mostly used for the first throw from the tee pad. A flat profile and a lot of weight on the edge ensure high speeds and range, but at the expense of control.


The flight characteristics of disc golf discs are divided into four categories. Each category describes a special
flight characteristic and is divided into various values that indicate the intensity of the characteristic.

Speed

1 – 14
Speed is the ability of the disc to cover distance. Discs with a high speed value keep the speed longer than those with a low speed value and fly further depending on the throwing power. However, the possibility to “overthrow” the target can occur easily.

Glide

1 – 7
Glide describes the disc's ability to glide in the wind. For beginners, discs with high glide values are easier to throw. They are also particularly suitable when there is a tail wind. Beginners who want to throw long distances should choose a driver with a high glide rating.

Turn

+1 – -5
Turn is the tendency of the disc to drift to the right at the beginning of the flight phase (right hand with a backhand throw). A disc with +1 value shows this characteristic only slightly, whereas a disc with -5 will pull strongly to the right.

Fade

0 – 5
Fade is the tendency for the disc to tip to the left at the end of the flight phase (right hand with a background throw). 0 is the lowest value and means that the trajectory ends straight. Such discs are often referred to as super stable or unstable. A high value creates a strong hook to the left. These discs are then called stable and overstable. Such discs are very reliable even in strong winds. Their trajectory is the easiest to predict.


The following Eurodisc disc golf discs are especially beginner friendly:

Putter
Midrange
Driver

As a rough guide, the lower the sum of turn and fade, the better the disc is suitable for beginners, as the flight path is relatively straight and stable.

Discgolf – Ein Outdoorsport für alle Generationen

Bewegung in der freien Natur, Spielspaß vom ersten Augenblick an und das gemeinsame Erlebnis
mit Familie und Freunden machen Discgolf zum echten Lieblingssport.

Worum geht´s?
Die Herausforderung besteht darin, einen Kurs von meist 18 Bahnen mit möglichst wenigen Würfen zu absolvieren. Von einer festgelegten Abwurfzone wirfst Du die Scheibe in Richtung eines Fangkorbs aus Metall. Anschließend markierst Du die Stelle, wo die Scheibe gelandet ist und spielst von dort aus weiter. Die Bahn ist zu Ende gespielt, wenn Du die Scheibe im Fangkorb versenkt hast. Je nach Parcours und Schwierigkeitsgrad, beträgt die Länge einer Bahn zwischen 40 und 250 Metern.

Die Anzahl der Discgolf-Anlagen in Deutschland wächst von Jahr zu Jahr. Eine Übersicht wo Du spielen kannst, gibt’s hier.

Die Discs
Die Auswahl der unterschiedlichen Discgolf-Scheiben ist schier unendlich und am Anfang manchmal ziemlich undurchsichtig.
Damit du nicht den Überblick verlierst, geben wir hier einen kurzen Einblick in die unterschiedlichen Scheibenkategorien und Flugeigenschaften.

Üblicherweise werden Discgolfscheiben in drei Hauptkategorien eingeteilt.

Putter

Präzision auf ganzer Linie. Putter sind für den Wurf in den Korb gemacht. Sie sind am einfachsten und sehr präzise zu werfen. Weite Distanzen schafft man mit ihnen aber nicht. Sie haben meistens einen hohen Rand und eine eher flache Oberseite. Der entscheidende Wurf einer Bahn wird fast immer mit dem Putter gemacht.

Midrange

Die Alleskönner unter den Discs. Midrange Discs haben zwar nicht die Reichweite der Driver, dafür überzeugen sie durch ihre Fähigkeit spezielle Flugbahnen halten zu können. Hindernisse können dadurch mit weniger Würfen umspielt werden.

Driver

Wenn es um Reichweite geht sind Driver die erste Wahl. Sie fliegen bei geübten Spielern über 100 Meter weit und werden daher meist für den ersten Wurf vom Teepad genutzt. Ein flaches Profil und viel Gewicht im Rand sorgen für hohe Geschwindigkeiten und Reichweite, allerdings auf Kosten der Kontrolle.


Die Flugeigenschaften von Discgolf-Scheiben werden in vier Kategorien eingeteilt. Jede Kategorie beschreibt ein spezielles
Flugverhalten und gliedert sich in verschiedene Zahlenwerte, welche die Ausprägung der Eigenschaft angeben.

Speed

1 – 14
Speed ist die Fähigkeit der Disc Distanz zurückzulegen. Discs mit einer hohen Speedzahl halten die Geschwindigkeit länger als solche mit niedrigem Speedwert und fliegen je nach Wurfkraft entsprechend weiter. Allerdings kann das Ziel also der Korb auch leichter „überworfen“ werden.

Glide

1 – 7
Glide beschreibt die Fähigkeit der Disc im Wind zu Gleiten. Für Anfänger sind Discs mit hohen Glide-Werten einfacher zu werfen. Außerdem eignen sie sich besonders bei Rückenwind. Anfänger die große Distanzen werfen möchten, sollten sich einen Driver mit hohem Glide-Rating aussuchen.

Turn

+1 – -5
High Speed Turn ist die Tendenz der Disc am Anfang der Flugphase nach rechts zu driften (bei Rückhandwürfen mit der rechten Hand). Eine Disc mit dem Wert +1 zeigt diese Eigenschaft nur leicht, wohingegen eine Disc mit -5 stark nach rechts ziehen wird.

Fade

0 – 5
Low Speed Fade ist die Tendenz der Disc am Ende der Flugphase nach links zu kippen (bei Rückhandwürfen mit der rechten Hand). 0 ist dabei der niedrigste Wert und bedeutet, dass die Flugbahn gerade endet. Solche Discs werden oft auch als Super Stable bzw. instabil bezeichnet. Ein hoher Wert sorgt für einen starken Haken nach Links. Diese Discs nennt man dann Stable und Over Stable bzw. stabil und überstabil. Solche Discs sind selbst bei starkem Wind sehr zuverlässig. Ihre Flugbahn lässt sich am einfachsten voraussagen.


Besonders einsteigerfreundlich sind die nachfolgenden Eurodisc Discgolf Scheiben.

Putter
Midrange
Driver

Als grober Richtwert gilt: Je niedriger die Summe aus Turn und Fade, umso besser eignet sich die Scheibe für Einsteiger, da die Flugbahn relativ gerade und stabil verläuft.